How to model relationship between functions and the common resources they use?

Hi all,

I’m quite new with Capella (though not with systems engineering).
I’m trying to figure out how I can best model common shares scalable resources, and show their relationship with the functions that depend on them.

My main focus is computing resources and storage resources.
I read in this thread (Common resources modelling) an approach that basically identifies the function for the resource and then add exchanges to all functions that use the resource.
Although this was my original idea, someone at work recommended against this, predominantly because the model would become too complex due to the many exchanges. He suggested using sequence diagrams and/or constraints. However, when doing a safety/security analysis, this relationship would not show up easily.

Soo now I’m wondering what is wisdom?
Any suggestions for this?

Maybe some more expert than I am would help here, but bringing my 2 cents…
Probably there is no definite answer to this, as it depends on how you’re going to use your model. If you’re going to use it for Safety/Security Analysis and that it is key that this relationship shows up, then you should model these relations. This may add some complexity to the model, but as suggested in the thread you’re pointing to, you would build dedicated diagrams to manage these relations (Like Computing Resource DataFlow Diagram, or more than one if it is too much in one diagram). And hide them from other diagrams for improved readability. Would that make your model “too complex”? I don’t know, it depends what is meant by “too complex”.