Capella Studio First Experience - Help

I am taking my first steps with Capella Studio. Using this post to:
a) ask questions where I get stuck
b) documenting the process for anyone else getting started. Hope this helps.

I am a System Engineer, not a software developer. But giving this a go!

I downloaded from here: Eclipse downloads - Select a mirror | The Eclipse Foundation

Once downloaded, I went to extract the zip file. First problem was after the 30mins it took to extract, the file path for some of the files was too long. Easy fix… shorten the file name of the “capella-studio-6.0.0.202209121340-win32.win32.x86_64” folder.

Next challenge… I clicked on the eclipse application. I then got this error:
JVM Error

I went to this java website to and downloaded then run… the x64 archive.
Java Downloads | Oracle United Kingdom. Still the same error.
Then I tried this… https://www.java.com/en/download/more_info.jsp
Then I tried this… Java Archive Downloads - Java SE 11 | Oracle United Kingdom

So question #1… how do I get the right JVM?

Thanks,

Josh

Hi,

Check the following topics:
Installing Capella vs Capella Studio and the need for JMV - Capella - Eclipse Capella Forum (mbse-capella.org)
Capella Studio 6 and higher are (not free)? → Java 11+ is not unfortunately - Capella Studio & Kitalpha - Eclipse Capella Forum (mbse-capella.org)

So basically just download a JDK from JDK Java Net and add it to the PATH environment variable of your system. I recommend a JDK older than JDK 17 (Like JDK 11 or 16) because of a deprecated feature (Ant SecurityManager) that won’t allow you to build stuff.

1 Like

Thanks for the help @mvccogo however you might need to step me through this a little more.

I have downloaded JDK, and you can see I have got 11.0.17 as you recommended.

Then I went to my Advanced System Settings to set the PATH environment variable.

JDK3