Using constraints across all system levels

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to Capella and am struggling with using constraints on all levels of the Arcadia workflow (mostly OA at the moment). For some context, I am trying to model the requirements of the body of a bus and by exploring needs and expectations of external actors.

Unfortunately, I have made it to SA level and realized that ‘adherence to legislation/safety regulations’ is not a function but a constraint of the system. My question is how to introduce system constraints from OA level and how do I realize these constraints as I get down to SA and so on.

I have been reading up on online literature to understand the operation and capability of Capella to satisfy my modelling needs. However, I have only come across limited information on how constraints are integrated into models.

I have attached an operational capabilities model for some reference (which I am pretty sure is an incorrect application of constraints). But any assistance/feedback on the matter would be most appreciated!

Thanks, in anticipation!

Hi. From the tooling point of view, constraints in Capella can be attached to any model element. But I’m wondering if in your case the respect of legislation would be an Operational Capability, and there would be System Capabilities that would contribute to the respect of the legislation.

Hello! Thanks for your response. I am in the same predicament. As the bus body is a static structure, it can either be regulation compliant or not. The criteria that decides this is more parametric than functional. I struggle to understand which of the current capabilities would be better represented as constraints or as capabilities. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanking you, in anticipation.