Thesis - MBSE applied to Start Ups

Hi there!

I am starting this topic as part of my Master Thesis in Systems Engineering, I am studying “The Applicability of MBSE in New Space Start-Ups”. My end goal is to perform a Case Study of MBSE on a subsystem of one of these startups and compare/analyze the outcome/benefits with the daily troubles of their current SE solutions.

In that context, I first need to decide which language, method and software to use. Although Arcadia and Capella are already very good contenders simply from their open source nature, I would like to ask you, Capella community, for any user feedback not only on the tool itself, but also on the ease of use and integration into your organizations.
How easy is the learning curve?
How difficult was it to convince colleagues?
Where there any push-backs during your switch to MBSE?

I would particularly be interested in anyone that has anecdotes of using the Arcadia method in the context of a Start Up.
What pushed you to use Capella vs other software?
What convinced you that MBSE was necessary?

I would be more than happy to start a conversation in the comments bellow on your experiences and possibly discuss further via PM if need be.

Thank you for your help!

Hi!

Great timing, our company does a lot of work with start-ups in the medical device space and I have just started exploring using Capella to incorporate MBSE into our projects. I’m probably too early in the process to give you valuable feedback, but here are some highlights of my reasoning and experiences so far.

• Startups can be pretty cost conscious when it comes to tooling, especially tooling related to documentation. So having something open source and cross platform like Capella reduces the barrier to adoption.