Replicating Component Exchanges for System Interfaces Shared by Different Actors

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to Capella, and currently working at the SA level of system that’s designed to be integrated into a vehicle.

The scenario: I have 3 human actors that interact with the system - “driver”, “manager”, “service technician”. They have common functions, e.g., they can all monitor the system warning messages and supress them if the wish, or drive the vehicle. However “manager” and “service technician” have unique functions. “Service technician” will have the highest level of access to the system to service it, change system parameters etc. “Manager” can set system settings etc. But all 3 actors use the same system HMI

Question: is there a better way than to have 3 actors represented separately, given their tiered level of access to the system, as I now have 3 separate component exchanges “System HMI” to the system that are all actually the same thing in reality?

Hi there,

I am also new to Capella and have this exact situation.

The answer is to define an Operational Role (the purple ones) of “System Supervisor” or some such name and then allocate the monitor system parameters HMI operational activities to that Role.

A role can then be allocated to multiple actors and multiple roles can be added to each actor.

Hope that helps.

JFAvi8

Hi, Thanks for the quick response! I have done some role allocation at operational level - how do the roles then transition into system analysis level?

Cheers

Hi,

I’ve just run an experiment, and it seems that at the system analysis level the description of role is no longer required.