"Propagating" states or modes to nested components

Can I set a relationship between the state of a component and the states of its parts in Capella?
For example, I have a component called “Heat Exchanger System” and a component called “Valve” which is part of it. I would like to determine that when the “Heat Exchanger System” is in the state “Off” then this means that the “Valve” is in the state “Closed”.
Does that make sense and can it be done?

Thank you

I may be incorrect as I’m still learning Capella/Arcadia and MBSE, but here is my opinion:

The propagation of states the way you described it may not be a good way to model the system. There should be a concrete trigger that will lead your Valve component into the “Closed” state. So while you cannot link states directly (from State Machine to State Machine), you could do the following: create/link a Trigger (like a function/function exchange) that will lead your “Heat Exchanger System” into the “Off” state. You probably already have this, unless you have triggerless transitions.

Now, in your Valve state machine, use the same trigger in the transition to the “Closed” state. This means that, whenever the first state machine gets the trigger, the second one will also react to it and move to the Closed state.

You should notice a caveat: if the second state machine is in a state which doesn’t contain the outbound transition to the “Closed” state, it won’t react to the trigger. And modelling like this is desireable, as your Valve may be unable to be closed if it is in a state that can’t jump to the closed state (if the states are simply open/closed then it won’t matter - the trigger would always work).

IIRC you also can’t directly select a transition trigger to be executed inside a state’s entry/do/exit activities - you must use functions or functional exchanges which are then added as triggers inside transitions.

Hope this helps, I’d like to read other people’s opinions on this.

1 Like