Problems with importing packages

Hello everyone,

I begin to say that I am not an expert in programming and I am using python4capella at the moment simply to export components and requirements. With that being said, I try to explain my problem. If I follow your tutorial and install directly python3.7 on my Capella directory (I am using Capella 6.0.0), everything works fine, but I am not able to install packages. Indeed, if I try in the preferences menu it does give me ‘FINISHED’ without installing any package. Of course, openpyxl does work as it is yet installed inside the zip folder.

Hence, I put as predefined python engine the one I have yet installed separately for my own other purposes (python 3.11.1). The strange thing is that I am able to import packages. Nevertheless, once I run a code, this happens and everything stops working (see down below the error).

I also tried to install pakages inside the folder of python3.7 (the one in the capella folder) from the ‘external’ python 3.11.1 but once I run the code it returns me error.
In a nusthell, the two approached are complementary in the errors they are producing. This is not a big issue for the things I am doing, as I am using two python in parallel let’s say. Nevertheless, it would be nice if I would be able to import packages and extend the work I am doing (at the moment modify and exporting requirements).

I hope I was clear and apologize since the beginning as maybe I am doing a stupid error. Again, those are my first steps in programming.

Thank you in advance.

Welcome ! And don’t worry we all started at some point.

To install new packages in the provided Python interpreter you can follow this documentation. But I would suggest to use a more recent version of Python.

I guess you are using numpy directly or indirectly (via pandas, …). There is an issue that explain how you can fix this.

Good morning Yvan,

I checked the documentation you linked and now I am able to install packages. Thank you.