Op Capability involv. Operational Processes

Hello!
I am new to ARCADIA and Capella and I find it very interesting and usefult for our tasks. Before that I used Enterprise Architect … but Capella workflow is much more clean and robust.

I have a question regarding Operational Analysis and Operational Capabilities.
I model a system which collects data from several external systems and combine this data to provide one particular feature (capability) to the User.

I made several Operational Processes describing the processes of receiving Data-Group-1 and Data-Group-2. And create another process from central activity (where all the data is being combined) to the user.

So, there are three OPs describing the capability end-to-end.

What does it mean when I specify all 3 OPs as “Involved Operational Processes” in one particular Capability? That all 3 OPs are implementing this Capability? Or any of these OPs implements this Capability?

Or it is better to create one OP end-to-end from the external system to the user?

Thanks a lot for your replies.

PS I made two OPs for data collection because this data (and this OPs) could be reused for other Capabilities. Like OC-1 = OP1 + OP2; OC2 = OP2 + OP3 etc.

Hi there,
A few comments:

• To answer your question, OPs are “describing” OCs. For one OC, you may have one or (more generally) more OP describing it. So when you specify them as “involved Operational Processes”, this does not mean that they are implementing the OC but they are contributing to explain what your OC is about. You may also use Operational Scenarios to describe your OC, that’s another way to do it
  • In the operational analysis, you should not model the system of interest. If you want to model the OC of your system, then you should move to the System Analysis layer.

Stephane

3 Likes