non functional constraints integration

Hello all!
I’m new to capella and am a bit struggling with adapting the method to my needs. In fact, I’ve followed the IFE, EOLE and Level Crossing Traffic Control examples which are all very active and/or software oriented systems.
What i’m trying to model are equipeded buildings (factories for example) which are more passive systems. Theese systems are typically decomposed into functional means (ex: machines) and non functional infrastructure (ex: walls, ventilation…). Concerning the functionnal means, i kind of got it. The building has to provide machines which fit the actors operational needs (typically in order to achive the production goal).
So my question is more about the non functional infrastructure. How can i integrate differents constraints to the model since they don’t really directly respond to the main objectives of the system? For example how can i define the need of having walls, toilets, light, etc?
Thanks in advance for any help,
David

1 Like

Hello David,
interesting use case! Could you elaborate on your example in order for us to possibly suggest orientations?

• What kinds of requirements or constraints do you have for buildings, walls, ventilation etc (let’s call them ‘utilities’)?
  • What kind of engineering or architecture decisions do you have to take where the model would possibly be useful?
  • same question specifically regarding utilities?
  • Which kinds of criteria would be used, regarding definition of utilities and their mutual influence/constraints?
  • How are those expectations on utilities related to more functional features, how do they interact with each others? Do they constrain each others?
    If you can give some examples, it would help.
    Jean-Luc

Indeed. And maybe we should migrate this topic to the Arcadia forum ?

Thank you for your quick answer.
I’m currently working on a simplified example of a car workshop as an exercise.