Library work model

Hi All,

I am new to Capella and I have the following issue. I would like to create a library of units to define the standard and provide components, which could be reused by other users to build whole systems.

My architecture approach to this work model is to create “Capella Library” with units, then create REC for each unit. Each modelled unit will have Logical and Physical Architecture modelled. The other users will connect their projects to this library and replicate (RPL) units from the library to their projects.

I get the following issues, while creating this work model:

1. Is it possible in Capella to create some type of folders, so I could organise the library into categories e.g. sensors, pumps etc.

2. Is it possible to create one REC for Logical and Physical models with the associated links? For example I would like to create one REC for temp sensor Logical and Physical models together with their realization links, so the whole structure can be replicated.

3. Can I copy the REC library model layout to the replicated model on other project? It looks like the copy/paste layout works within one project but it cannot be applied between REC from library and RPL on a project.

Hi Julian,

Working with libraries is very powerful, but it is indeed better to think about it beforehand.

1. Organization
    The 3 main ways to organise your libraries are :
  • the structure of the model itself
  • using packages in the 'REC catalogue
  • the organisation of projects (files) in the workspace

There is no one right way to do it. It depends very much on your context, objectives, etc. For instance, replication inside one Capella model will prevent to use last solution (workspace).
However, considering what you’re describing (complex REC implying several engineering layers), I would recommend using 1 REC per project.

1. Multi-perspectives REC