How to link a class to a structure?

Hello,

I’m fairly new to Capella and have a question about classes. I’ll use one of the example models to demonstrate: the In-Flight Entertainment System.

In this model under there is a class diagram which specifies that a passenger has a name and a first name. The class view seems to provide quite a rich set of grammar for defining attributes and data of objects.

However, when I query the Passenger structure, I can’t see any way that it is or can be connected to this class in order to imply that the Passenger structure is ‘an instance of’ the Passenger class?

This would be really helpful as I’d be able to assign attributes to my structures, the same way that you can assign content to functional exchanges. Potentially I could then use these attributes to control state behaviour (e.g. WHEN parameter X > 1). Is there a way to do this?

Thanks.

you need to set Is Primitive for class

after that yoo will be able to add property to any component and set type for it

Thanks @dsryzhov,

I’ve made an primitive class definition. How do I ‘add property’ to a component now?

Simply select component and from context menu add new element > property. After that set type for property in properties view

пт, 7 июн. 2024 г., 17:33 Jack Hutton via Eclipse Capella Forum <noreply@forum.mbse-capella.org>:

Hi @dsryzhov, I think you are showing how to set a class to be a property of another class?

I am looking for how to set a class to type a structure, similar to how you can set a functional exchange to be typed by exchange items.

e.g. if I have this structural architecture:

I want to set ‘Left’ and ‘Right’ to be of type ‘wheel’:

Is this possible in ARCADIA? If not, is there a reason? Why is there a ‘Passenger’ class in the ‘In-Flight Entertainment System’ model which is not / cannot be linked to the ‘Passenger’ structure?

Now I understand your question.
You want a structure component to be typed by a class.