How to get the associations between classes with Py4C?

Hi,

I am a beginner with Py4C and the Capella Simplified Metamodel so I might have missed something obvious.

In a Py4C script, I’d like to access the associations that I have created between classes in a Data Package using the Association symbol in the Palette.

A basic example will be sufficient.

I have also created a Generalization association between two classes using the Generic Connection Creation Tool and I am looking to ways with Py4C to know that such association exists between them.

Thank you.

Hi,

Please find below an example. To test it, I simply created an empty Capella project with 2 classes (Class 1 and Class2) in the data package at the operational analysis level, and created an association and a generalization between Class1 and Class2.

Note that for the associations, I am using the API from the simplified metamodel. This may not be sufficient depending on what you’re looking for, as this part of the simplified meta-model is not finalized.
For the generalization, I am going through a Java Object. This is what one can do when the API is not finalized. To find out how to navigate in the Capella full meta-model using Java object, I use either the Interpreter view to write AQL queries, or I look at the “expert” tab in the property view for a given object.

include('workspace://Python4Capella/simplified_api/capella.py')
if False:
    from simplified_api.capella import *

aird_path = '/TestClass/TestClass.aird'
#aird_path = '/In-Flight Entertainment System/In-Flight Entertainment System.aird'

model = CapellaModel()
model.open(aird_path)

# gets the SystemsEngineering and print its name
se = model.get_system_engineering()
print("Model opened: "+se.get_name())

#Get All Classes from the data package in the Operational Analysis
myClasses = se.get_operational_analysis().get_data_pkg().get_owned_classes()
#Get the first Class
myFirstClass = myClasses[0]
#Get all properties (associations)