How to disconnect cloned diagrams?

Hi everyone,

I am studying on various scenarios in System Analysis. Firstly, I created an [SAB] Diagram. Then, I want to generate another [SAB] diagram for different scenario. I performed this by cloning function. However, I cannot cancel connection between these diagrams. Is there any way to disconnect cloned diagrams to manage separate scenarios in these two diagrams?

The help guide says:
“The contextual menu on a diagram allows to rename or clone an existing diagram (a new diagram is initiated with the same content and layout, which can be very helpful).”. However, I was not able to find more details in the online documentation."

I have tried in the past the diagram feature unsynchronized. However, it seems both the clone and diagram cloned are always synched.
It may well be how the Capella is designed for, to have both diagrams always synched.

However, what is the use case for the clone diagram?

1 Like

@sefatak I don’t get it - what do you mean by “I cannot cancel connection between these diagrams.”? What is connected?

1 Like

@StephaneLacrampe My question is how to unsynchronize cloned diagrams. Is this feature available in Capella?

UnSynchronize from what?

1 Like

Let me explain more. First of all, I created an [SAB] Functional Architecture. Let say its name is “[SAB]-1”.
Then, for a reason in same Capella Project, I cloned “[SAB]-1” and let say, name of the cloned diagram is “[SAB]-2”.

Now, I want to unsynchronize [SAB]-1 and [SAB]-2. Is that possible?

Hi,

It seems you’re confusing cloning and synchronization.

1) Cloning
To ‘clone’ a diagram is just to copy it. This doesn’t mean a modification from one of them would be reported on the other.

2) Synchronizing
On top of that, a diagram can be synchronized or not.
See Help -> User Manual -> Diagram Management -> Advanced Management of Diagrams

• Synchronizing diagrams is the default behaviour of Capella (all elements will be shown automatically)