Modelling a migration plan with Arcadia

Hello Antoine,
I find your question quite interesting and I’m surprised that you did not receive any answers so far. I am a beginner so I wouldn’t be of much help. But I would like to ask you a followup question: Given the large effort that you propose for putting your migration process into an Arcadia model, what added value do you expect from this undertaking?
Cheers,
Sergio

Hello Sergio
The added value I expect boils down to the content of the first paragraphs: demonstrate that each temporary configuration that will be used in commercial service provides the required functionality. Given the complexity of the system considered (number of subsystems, distributed architecture, safety-critical, mix of legacy systems and new components…) and the need to communicate with the client about service continuity, model-based approaches can be quite powerful. Furthermore, using the library mechanism ensures that components that appear in several configurations are consistently described in all those configurations.
I guess (but it’s only a guess) that the main reason I didn’t receive answers is that this “migration” use case is not a typical one in the industry that currently uses Capella with a reasonable level of maturity. The tool and the method are best suited to the design of new systems (albeit based on old systems or using existing COTS), but their focus isn’t on the long-term evolution of a system through various phases.